Members Login

Font: A A A

Board of Directors

IAASA Board members are  - Chairperson Martin Sisk, Chief Executive Kevin PrendergastMary BurkeDavid DevlinEtain Doyle, David Hegarty, Nicole Lappin, Aisling McArdle, Kathleen Redmond.

IAASA’S Board of Directors

Martin Sisk, Chairperson, has over 35 years regulatory and business related experience. A qualified Solicitor, he started his career in the Revenue Commissioners, served as Registrar of Friendly Societies 1985 – 2003, Deputy Registrar of Credit Unions 2003 -2006, Deputy Head of Consumer Protection Codes 2007 – 2008 and as Head of the Anti- Money Laundering, Terrorist Finance and Financial Sanctions Unit of the Central Bank 2008 – 2010. He retired from the Central Bank in July 2010.  Martin was elected to the Board of Malahide & District Credit Union in December 2010 and continues to be a Director. He was elected to the Board of the Irish League of Credit Unions in February 2011 and was subsequently elected as Vice President 2011 – 2013 and President 2013 – 2015. He continues to be a Director.  Martin was appointed a Director of VHI Healthcare in March 2012 for a three year term ( 2012 – 2015 ) and was subsequently appointed as Chairman in September 2012 for the remainder of his term.  Martin was appointed as the Independent Non – Executive Director of the Interim Board of the Office of Government Procurement in May 2015.  Martin was appointed to the Board of the Health Information and Quality Authority in July 2015.

Kevin Prendergast, Chief Executive, joined IAASA in November 2016 from his role as Head of Enforcement with the Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement, having been employed there since 2005.  Prior to that he worked in the Large Cases Division of the Revenue Commissioners and also has several years experience in the private sector including a number of years working in an audit firm.  Kevin is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Ireland. As well as a holding a Bachelors Degree and  a Masters in Accounting from University College Dublin, he also holds an MSc in Executive Leadership from the University of Ulster.


Mary Burke is Head of the Prudential Policy and Governance Division of the Central Bank of Ireland.   The Division is responsible for the development of policy for the prudential regulation of banking and insurance undertakings as well as corporate governance, auditing and accounting policy across financial services sectors and leads the Central Bank of Ireland’s engagement in European regulation and policymaking in these areas.  She has worked with the Central Bank since 1984 moving into financial services supervision in 1997.   Previous roles within the Central Bank have included Head of Banking Supervision and Head of Securities and Exchanges Supervision.   Mary is a Fellow of the ACCA.  

David Devlin was a partner in PwC in Dublin until 30 September 2012. He continued with the PwC global network for a further year, latterly as Leader, Public Policy and Regulatory Affairs for PwC’s network firms in Europe. David was a member of the EC European Corporate Governance Forum from 2005 to 2011. He is a past President of FEE (now Accountancy Europe), having served two terms from 2002 to 2006.  He was for two terms a member of International Federation of Accountants’ (‘IFAC’) International Ethics Standards Board for Accountants, which was responsible for the profession’s global Ethics Code. Previously he has been a member of the Supervisory Board of the European Financial Reporting Advisory Group, established to advise the EC, and of the Urgent Issues Task Force of the United Kingdom Accounting Standards Board (now Corporate Reporting Council of the FRC).  David is a Chartered Accountand honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award by the ICAI, and with honorary life membership by both the ACCA in the UK and the CPA. He is a director of Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital Crumlin; a member of the Board of Management of CBC Monkstown; and member of the Board of the European Corporate Governance Institute in Brussels.


Etain Doyle is an accountant and accredited executive coach with a varied portfolio including running a peer learning circle and coaching SME CEOs.  She is a member of the IoD with extensive governance experience.  Apart from Board membership of IAASA, she chairs the Technology Committee of ACCA Ireland which seeks to encourage members and provide opportunities for them to keep up to date on technology.  She was ACCA Accountant of the Year in 2018 for this work.  She is also Chairperson of the Audit Committee of the NCCA.

David Hegarty is a barrister working as a Principal Officer in the Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement. He qualified as a solicitor in 2002 and transferred to the Bar in 2006, practising primarily in the area of criminal defence and advocacy. He is registered on the LRSA Roll of Practising Barristers in the Full-time Service of the State. Prior to joining the ODCE he was Advisory Counsel in the Office of the Parliamentary Legal Adviser advising the Houses of the Oireachtas Commission and Service and parliamentary committees on constitutional, parliamentary and administrative law matters. He has also worked as a legal officer in the European Union Rule of Law Mission in Kosovo (EULEX) and at the Special Tribunal for Lebanon in The Hague, working in Judges’ Chambers with international judges trying economic crime, corruption, abuse of public office, war crimes and conspiracy to commit terrorism cases. 


Nicole Lappin was awarded a law degree from Queen’s University Belfast before qualifying as a barrister from King’s Inns Dublin. She has practised in both Dublin and Belfast. As an inaugural member of the Education Authority in Northern Ireland she has extensive experience in corporate governance. Along with her colleagues on the board Nicole oversaw the transition of five Education and Library Boards into a single organisation without loss of or reduction to services. She contributed to the 2017/2027 Strategic Plan which outlines the continuing process of transforming how education services are delivered in Northern Ireland. In 2017 Nicole was appointed as an independent non-executive board member of the Northern Ireland Courts and Tribunals Service and currently chairs its audit and risk committee.

Aisling McArdle is Head of Regulation at Euronext Dublin and is a member of the Euronext global regulation team. She joined the Irish Stock Exchange in 2002 and has held a variety of regulatory roles within the company over the past 17 years.  She became Head of Regulation, Dublin in September 2018, and is responsible for regulation and operations relating to the listing of financial instruments on Euronext Dublin's markets, across a variety of asset classes and a number of jurisdictions.  Aisling is responsible for the regulatory engagement with issuers and market participants as well as domestic and EU regulatory authorities.  She participates on the European Corporate Governance Network and is a former member of the Company Law Review Group and the International Markets Surveillance Group.  She is a Licentiate of the Association of Compliance Officers in Ireland. 

Kathleen Redmond is a Principal Officer with the Office of the Revenue Commissioners.  She is currently responsible for compliance policy.  Prior to this she served as the Customer Engagement Strategy Manager (2015 – 2018), PAYE Manager (2012 – 2014) and District Manager for the Revenue Fingal Tax District (2010 – 2012).  As well as holding a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Applied Taxation, she also completed an Executive Leadership Programme with Harvard University.